Integrating Global Issues Across the Curriculum (#globalclassroom chats – December 14/15)


cc licensed ( BY NC SA ) flickr photo shared by ABC LRC

Topic

This month’s #globalclassroom chats will explore the “big issues” of global education, focussing on how and why educators can integrate significant global issues, such as children’s rights to education, environmental protection, sustainability, climate change, hunger, international peace, etc into their K-12 curriculum.

We are particularly interested in how teachers and students can integrate these issues across the curriculum, and take ACTION to bring about sustainable change.

Guiding Questions

  1. Why should we introduce global issues into our curriculum? Should all students receive some form of global education as part of their schooling? How do we engage people who don’t see the point?

  2. What learning materials and issues have you explored which have been most successful?

  3. What pedagogical models support and empower students to explore & take action on these issues?

  4. How can we guide students to focus their global action so they’re not spread so thin their actions are meaningless? What would this look like? Can it be virtual? How do we make it sustainable?

Schedule

Chat 1 ~ Saturday, December 14th, 10:00 – 11:00 UTC

  • 10:00 London, 12:00 (noon) Cape Town, 15:30 New Delhi, 18:00 Perth, 21:00 Sydney, 23:00 Auckland
  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.

Chat 2 ~ Saturday, December 14th, 18:00 – 19:00 UTC

  • 10:00 Los Angeles, 13:00 New York, 18:00 London, 20:00 Cape Town, 07:00 SUNDAY – Auckland
  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.

Chat 3 ~ Sunday, December 15th, 01:00 – 02:00 UTC (Saturday in N & S America!)

  • Saturday night – 17:00 Los Angeles, 20:00 New York
  • Sunday – 06:30 New Delhi, 09:00 Perth, 12:00 Sydney, 14:00 Auckland
  • Click here to find out when this is in YOUR timezone.
About these ads
Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Global Classroom, Twitter Chats
5 comments on “Integrating Global Issues Across the Curriculum (#globalclassroom chats – December 14/15)
  1. […] cc licensed ( BY NC SA ) flickr photo shared by ABC LRC Topic This month's #globalclassroom chats will explore the "big issues" of global education, focussing on how and why educators can integrate significant global …  […]

  2. […] cc licensed ( BY NC SA ) flickr photo shared by ABC LRC Topic This month's #globalclassroom chats will explore the "big issues" of global education, focussing on how and why educators can integrate…  […]

  3. […] This month’s #globalclassroom chats will explore the “big issues” of global education, focussing on how and why educators can integrate significant global issues, such as children’s rights to education, environmental protection, sustainability, climate change, hunger, international peace, etc into their K-12 curriculum.  […]

  4. Rubén Eduardo Domínguez says:

    Muy interesantes temáticas. Me interesaría participar y comentar sobre estas cuestiones. Soy Rubén de Jujuy – Argentina.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

See you in Sydney! (July 18-20, 2014)
Our map of visitors
Blog Stats
  • 83,052 hits

Join 9,031 other followers

Archives
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,031 other followers

%d bloggers like this: